The Trend is your Friend

One of the last editions of the Handelsblatt was about the success of the direct banks in comparison to the affiliated banks and that the first one mentioned are turning more and more into so-called house banks or first banks.

The Trend is your Friend

https://www.handelsblatt.com/finanzen/banken-versicherungen/finanzinstitute-deutsche-onlinebanken-wachsen-rasant-2020-soll-der-durchbruch-gelingen/25294504.html

This increasing trend of direct banks becoming house banks has take, all in all, quiet a long time, if you consider if one considers that the market leaders DKB, ING or comdirect are now more than 20 years old.

This chart clearly illustrates the development of direct bank customers in Germany – a wonderfully linear development. So even as a “stupid board of directors” one can extrapolate 1:1.

https://de.statista.com/statistik/daten/studie/186890/umfrage/anzahl-der-direktbank-kunden-in-deutschland-bis-2015/

The trend among the so-called Challenger banks seems to be even faster and certainly cross-fertilizing, and here I will only have a look at the German market with the players N26, Tomorrow and Penta.

The figures of N26

Let’s look at the figures known in the market. N26, for example, is particularly impressive with a monthly growth of more than 250,000 customers, according to its own statement. In total, this has now brought together almost 5 million customers. This means that N26 (all countries combined) now has more customers than, for example, comdirect (with 2.6 million) or DKB (with 4.2 million customers in Germany). This makes the comparison a bit misleading, but it is nevertheless permissible.

In the financial scene newsletter, the N26 figures have already been critically examined in recent weeks and a thesis of weakening growth has been established, which I would not like to speculate about at this point.

The Trend is your Friend

If we look at another segment, corporate clients, I think the growth of Penta, the Berlin-based banking start-up, is impressive. The still young team has (in a market that cannot be compared with) won more than 12,000 corporate clients.

In contrast to N26, it can and must be assumed that Penta’s customers are not “test customers” but use Penta for their business. However, if you look at the number of companies (> 3 million) in Germany, Penta still has great potential for further growth, especially since other European countries are also on the roadmap.

At last let´s have a look at the newest player: Tomorrow. The team from Hamburg, which describes itself as the illegitimate child of GLS Bank and N26, has been able to convince around 16,000 people in the last six months for its sustainable approach to an account. A piece of cake compared to the Primus N26, but also here a number that positively surprised me. What is the reason for the growth of these new providers?

“What is the reason for the growth of these new providers?”

The most important thing is certainly the convincing product with mostly very few wow-effects paired with the, in all cases, strong customer focus.

In addition, from my point of view, there is something that I call the trend, which in my view strongly promotes growth:

  • Growth figures that create confidence in public
  • Recommendations from satisfied customers who often mutate into fanboys
  • Visibility in the “new” public the social network
  • many positive news through new growth figures, new features, new employees, new investments etc.
  • In short: A very positive image is being created, which customers would like to have rubbed off on them

And what is the reason for the ignorance of affiliated bankers

Let us try to illustrate this with examples:

Martin Zielke (CEO Commerzbank) said in 2016: “There is no reason to shake the affiliate strategy with additional affiliates. Apple and Amazon are also opening affiliates”: https://twitter.com/_yo_osman/status/770899183192735744?s=20. This is countered by facts instead of believing in yesterday’s news: Since 2016, a further 3 million customers (linear development) have decided in favor of direct banks and against affiliated banks.

The Trend is your Friend

Second example, another board member of the same bank at a conference last week:

Despite the known growth figures of N26 (from 50,000 customers per month at the beginning of 2018 to 250,000 customers per month currently), Mr. Hessenmüller (COO Commerzbank) believes that banking must be possible out of the pocket in the future. The Commerzbank Group is already growing significantly weaker in terms of customers (+100,000 more private customers in Q3 2019 vs. 250,000 at N26 per month!) than N26 with its mobile-only banking product, but it sees the need for such a product only in the future. At least at first glance, this strategy seems rather incomprehensible to laypeople like me.

At the moment, I do not see any serious signs of a changing trend in favour of the established, but rather an acceleration of change. In the coming months, this will certainly be reinforced by the increased entry of major players such as CHECK24, PayPal, Google, Apple and Facebook into the banking game.

Autor
André M. Bajorat
Specialist in #FinTech sh at @finleap_connect, @finleap, @fincompare, @compaio @sparkdata, @weddyplace, @loanlink, @vantik @penseo member at #fintechrat Founder @paymentbanking #ex @giropay @enfore @starfinanz mehr

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Trend is your Friend

In einer der letzten Ausgaben des Handelsblattes ging es um den Erfolg der Direktbanken im Vergleich zu den Filialbanken und dass Erstere mehr und mehr auch zur sogenannten Hausbank oder Erstbank werden.

https://www.handelsblatt.com/finanzen/banken-versicherungen/finanzinstitute-deutsche-onlinebanken-wachsen-rasant-2020-soll-der-durchbruch-gelingen/25294504.html

Dieser zunehmende Trend, dass Direktbanken zur Hausbank werden, hat in Summe recht lange gebraucht, wenn man sich überlegt, dass die Marktführer DKB, ING oder comdirect inzwischen schon älter als 20 Jahre sind.

Diese Grafik zeigt anschaulich die Entwicklung der Direktbankkunden in Deutschland – eine wunderbar lineare Entwicklung. Man kann also auch als “dummer Vorstand” das 1:1 extrapolieren: https://de.statista.com/statistik/daten/studie/186890/umfrage/anzahl-der-direktbank-kunden-in-deutschland-bis-2015/

Noch schneller und sicherlich gegenseitig befruchtend, scheint der Trend bei den sogenannten Challenger-Banken und dabei will ich nur den deutschen Markt mit den Playern N26, Tomorrow und Penta betrachten.

Die Zahlen von N26

Schauen wir auf die im Markt bekannten Zahlen. So beeindruckt vor allem N26 mit einem nach eigenen Angaben monatlichen Wachstum von mehr als 250.000 Kunden. In Summe sind so inzwischen fast 5 Millionen Kunden zusammengekommen. Damit hat N26 (alle Länder zusammengenommen) inzwischen mehr Kunden als beispielsweise die comdirect (mit 2,6 Millionen) oder die DKB (mit 4.2 Millionen Kunden in Deutschland). Damit hinkt der Vergleich ein bisschen und dennoch sei er erlaubt.

Im Finanz-Szene Newsletter wurden die N26-Zahlen in den letzten Wochen schon einmal kritisch unter die Lupe genommen und die These eines abschwächenden Wachstums aufgestellt, worüber ich an dieser Stelle nicht spekulieren möchte.

Wenn wir in ein anderes Segment, die Firmenkunden, schauen, dann ist das Wachstum des Berliner Banking-Startups Penta aus meiner Sicht beeindruckend. Das noch junge Team hat (im nicht zu vergleichenden Markt) inzwischen mehr als 12.000 Unternehmens-Kunden von sich überzeugen können.

Anders als bei N26 kann und muss man davon ausgehen, dass die Kunden bei Penta keine “Testkunden” sind, sondern Penta für ihr Business nutzen. Schaut man auf die Anzahl an Unternehmen (> 3 Millionen) in Deutschland, dann hat Penta aber weiter ein großes Potential für weiteres Wachstum, zumal man auch weitere europäische Länder auf der Roadmap hat.

Schauen wir zuletzt noch auf den neuesten Player: Tomorrow. Das Team aus Hamburg, das sich selbst als das uneheliche Kind von GLS Bank und N26 bezeichnet, hat in den letzten sechs Monaten rund 16.000 Menschen für seinen nachhaltigen Ansatz eines Kontos überzeugen können. Ein Klacks im Vergleich zum Primus N26, aber auch hier eine Zahl die mich positiv überraschte. Was ist der Grund für das Wachstum dieser neuen Anbieter?

„Was ist der Grund für das Wachstum dieser neuen Anbieter?“

Das Wichtigste ist sicherlich das überzeugende Produkt mit meist sehr wenigen Wow-Effekten gepaart mit dem bei allen stark vorhandenen Kundenfokus.

Zusätzlich kommt aus meiner Sicht etwas dazu, was ich den Trend nenne und welches aus meiner Sicht den Wachstum stark befördert:

  • Wachstumszahlen die in der Öffentlichkeit Vertrauen schaffen
  • Empfehlungen von zufriedenen Kunden die oft zu Fan-Boys mutieren
  • Sichtbarkeit in der “neuen” Öffentlichkeit dem Sozial-Netzwerk
  • viele positive Nachrichten durch neue Wachstumszahlen, neue Features, neue Mitarbeiter, neue Investments etc.
  • Kurz: Es entsteht ein sehr positives Image, welches Kunden gern auf sich abfärben lassen wollen

Und was ist der Grund für die Ignoranz der Filialbanker?

Versuchen wir es an Beispielen fest zu machen:

Martin Zielke (CEO Commerzbank) sagte noch im Jahr 2016: „Es gibt keinen Grund an der Filialstrategie mit weiteren Filialen zu rütteln. Auch Apple und Amazon eröffnen Filialen“:https://twitter.com/_yo_osman/status/770899183192735744?s=20. Dem Gegenüber stehen Fakten, statt des Glaubens an das Gestrige: Seit 2016 haben sich gut 3 Millionen weitere Kunden (lineare Entwicklung) für Direktbanken und gegen Filialbanken entschieden.

The Trend is your Friend

Zweites Beispiel, ein anderer Vorstand der selben Bank in der letzten Woche auf einer Konferenz:

Trotz der bekannten Wachstumszahlen von N26 (von 50.000 Kunden pro Monat Anfang 2018 auf 250.000 Kunden pro Monat aktuell) ist Herr Hessenmüller (COO Commerzbank) der Meinung, dass Banking in der Zukunft aus der Hosentasche heraus möglich sein muss. Die Commerzbank-Gruppe wächst bereits heute bei Kunden (+100.000 mehr Privatkunden im 3. Quartal 2019 vs 250.000 bei N26 pro Monat!) deutlich schwächer als N26 mit ihrem Mobile-Only-Bankprodukt, aber sie sieht die Notwendigkeit für ein solches erst in der Zukunft. Diese Strategie wirkt zumindest auf den ersten Blick für Laien wie mich eher unverständlich.
https://twitter.com/commerzbank/status/1202511214250778627?s=21

Im Moment sehe ich keine ernsthaften Anzeichen für einen Trendwechsel zu Gunsten der Etablierten, sondern vielmehr eine Beschleunigung des Wandels. Verstärkt wird dieser in den kommenden Monaten sicher noch durch den verstärkten Einstieg großer Player wie CHECK24, PayPal, Google, Apple und Facebook in das Banking-Game.

Autor
André M. Bajorat
Specialist in #FinTech sh at @finleap_connect, @finleap, @fincompare, @compaio @sparkdata, @weddyplace, @loanlink, @vantik @penseo member at #fintechrat Founder @paymentbanking #ex @giropay @enfore @starfinanz mehr

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Der beste Newsletter ever.

Wir versorgen dich wöchentlich mit News, ausgewählten Artikeln und Kommentaren zu aktuellen Themen, die die Finanz-Branche bewegen. Jetzt anmelden!
Hello!